GEILO HOTEL February 1 – 4, 2015




The Scandinavian symposium on Physical Acoustics was held at Geilo, Norway in the period 1th to the 4th of February 2015. The meeting represented the 38th in a series of Scandinavian co-operation meetings in acoustics/hydrodynamics, and was arranged by the Acoustics and Optics group of the Norwegian Physical Society. 


46 participants mostly from Scandinavia attended the meeting. A total of 26 papers were presented. They covered a wide range of topics: underwater acoustics, transducer technology, fisheries acoustics, new solutions to sound propagation problems, sound propagation in multi reflection environments, and applications of ultrasound in industry. The papers were presented in 5 oral sections. The presentation time allowed for each presentation was 25 minutes.


A tradition in these symposia has been to leave some time around noon to go skiing, so also this year. The weather was good, and the nearby “løyper” and downhill slopes at Geilo offered possibilities at all levels of ambition. This, followed by lunch, allowed the participants to meet fresh for the afternoon sessions.


It is the aim of the organizers to attract students at master and doctoral levels to present their work. The Norwegian Physical society must be acknowledged for their financial support to master-students who attended the meeting.


The proceedings contain 15 of the presentations. A separate index for the papers has been added. There was no page limitation for the manuscripts.


The organizers would like to thank sincerely the speakers and participants for making the meeting an interesting and enjoyable event. Special thanks to the chairpersons, who prevented the sessions to stray too far from the time schedule.


The Acoustics and Optics group of the Norwegian Physical Society plans to organize a new meeting in the year 2016. This will be the 39th in the series. Invitations will be sent early in the autumn of 2015.

Rolf J Korneliussen was the coordinator of the Geilo 2015 meeting. Ulf Kristiansen will be the coordinator of the 2016 meeting.